Property/Casualty Pre-Licensing Training
Licensing candidates are required to complete 20 course hours per lineof authority.
To be eligible to take the Property/Casualty licensing exam you must complete 40 hours of course instruction. At the Independent Insurance Agents of Maryland (IIAMD) we offer a 5 day licensing course that covers Property, Casualty and MD Law.
Course Fee:**Tuition does not include the cost of the MD state exam**
Members: $300 (Agency must be a member of IIAMD)
2408 Peppermill Dr., Ste A
Glen Burnie, MD. 21061
Time:Monday through Friday, 9am-4:30pm
Material: Each registrant receives the Maryland Property & Casualty Pass Package textbook which includes access to an online exam simulator, the Candidate Information Bulletin and the property/casualty content outline. All material is distributed the first day of class.
Attendance: In order to be eligible to take the state licensing exam you must attend all five days of class. If you miss any amount of time, including showing up late for class, you will be asked to re-register for the next available class at your expense. No transfers will be given. There are NO EXCEPTIONS!
Property/Casualty pre-licensing classes offered through IIAMD are FREE to all U.S. Veterans! Please make sure you read our cancellation policy before registering.
After you register for one of our courses all that is required is that you send a copy of your current photo I.D. as well as a copy of your DD 214. You may email it to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Exam Eligibility Period
Effective October 1, 2018, a candidate's eligibility period will be six (6) months.
What's Next: After you complete the pre-licensing course
State Licensing Exam: Upon completion of the 40 hour course you will then be eligible to schedule and sit for your Maryland licensing exam. The state exam is administered by PSI. You are responsible for scheduling and payment of the state exam. The exam can be scheduled by visiting https://candidate.psiexams.com. You can only schedule the exam once you have completed the 40 hour course. The cost of the exam is $70.
License Application: Once you have passed your state exam you are ready to apply and pay for your initial insurance license. You can apply for your license by visiting the National Insurance Producer Registry at www.nipr.com. The cost of the initial license is $54 plus a $6.18 transaction fee charged by NIPR.
Validity of Examination Results
Effective October 1, 2018, the examination results will be valid for six (6) months.
Continuing Education Requirements: Congratulations on becoming a licensed insurance producer! Now that you hold a Maryland property/casualty producer license you are required to complete 24 CE hours every two year license renewal term. Of those 24 hours, 3 hours must be done in the category of Ethics. If you sell Flood insurance, you are also required to complete an approved 2 hour Flood course every 2 year renewal term.
Pre-licensing Education Waiver/Employer Affidavit
A pre-licensing course is not required of a candidate who:
1) Holds one of the following designations:
2) Has been employed by an insurer, producer, or agency for a year or more (within the past three calendar years). If you have worked for more than one employer within that year of employment you will need to get each employer to fill out an affidavit.
If either of the above apply, please fill out the Education Waiver/Employer Affidavit and submit to the MIA for approval.
Eligibility Period for Pre-Licensing Waiver
Effective October 1, 2018,the pre-licensing education waiver will be valid for six (6) months.